Seeing into the future

I’m coming to see you tomorrow.

The person who reminds me so much of him.

I look at you and it is just him but 40 years older.

The same look, hair pattern and jaw line.

The same sitting stance; hands between your knees as if to contain them when you talk about something funny.

The same eye roll at something your wife does.

Your stubbornness.

I look at your wife and see myself.

A worried warrior, protecting you but scared for what might happen.

Too many times this week I’ve put myself in her position.

What would I do if that was me; if that was my husband.

Would I cry?

Would I get angry?

Would I just get on with it?

And I look at you and see him. My husband.

And I did cry.

I did get angry.

And now I am getting on with it.

If he is half the man you are now, even in your hour of need, I know I would’ve done good.

I’m coming to see you tomorrow.

And I can hardly wait.

2 thoughts on “Seeing into the future

Leave a Reply

