Heartbeat

Can you hear us?

We heard you today for the first time

We’ve seen you before on a tiny screen

We have a photo of you on our window sill

But today

Today you made us feel like you were really there

 

THUMP THUMP THUMP THUMP THUMP

 

Your heart beating twice as fast as mine

Stopping my heart for a fraction of  second while the midwife found it

She found it quickly, you aced this appointment today

Good BP, good size and good heart

My heart swelled for you again today

You let Mama know that what I am doing is right, all I am doing is for you

It reassured me that I was looking after you as much as I can from the outside

Thank you for doing that

I needed to know that

Leave a Reply

