Music in your life

I have always had music in my life. When I was a little girl, I remember sitting in the car with the radio on, or a tape cassette (it was the late 80’s/early 90’s) and singing or humming away to whatever song was being played at the time. Be that The Carpenters, Bros or Gene Pitney.

Music is always a comfort to me, I like all sorts of music, as long as it has a good beat and feel to it, then that’s OK by me. Rock, Indie, pop even Classical rocks my boat. I use to play Cello many moons ago. I just loved that deep rich sound it made.

Since becoming pregnant, music has meant much more to me. I am forever listening to songs and finding different meanings to the song than before I was pregnant.

There are two songs in particular which have struck me with their words. One song I will share with you once the baby is born, and the other song is a song I have always enjoyed, but it is only now that it makes sense to me.

Across the Universe by The Beatles has been a favourite of mine ever since I fell in love with The Beatles when they had a revival in the 90’s.

I loved it for its simplicity, the soft tone of guitar and sitar against the gruff of John Lennon’s voice. I’ve had a bit of a love-in with The Beatles this past week and I’ve fallen in love with this song all over again. The words just speak to me on waves that never did before.

The chorus of ‘Nothin’s gonna change my world‘ just jump out at me. Everything is gonna change in my world once our baby is here. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

But what really gets me in this song is this verse:

Sounds of laughter shades of life
are ringing through my open ears
exciting and inviting me
Limitless undying love which
shines around me like a million suns
It calls me on and on across the universe

This, this really sums up my whole feeling about becoming a Mother. The laughter and limitless undying love is pretty much what I am going to try to do to make my child happy.

I’ve attached the link to my happy preggo song for you to enjoy to. Sit back and listen, It’s like going into another world.

 

Without music, life would be a mistake. ~Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche

Leave a Reply

