Parenthood

There is nothing like being a parent to make you feel on top of the world and thinking like you’ve cracked it one minute to thinking you are utterly useless and not cut out for it, the next.

In the 10 weeks I’ve been a Mama to James, the same questions have cropped up.
Does he sleep through the night yet?
No.

Does he self settle?
No, he prefers to be settled by Mama or Dad.

Oh, you’ve spoilt him then?
No. How do you spoil a baby? He does like to be carried but he is A BABY. They dont know any different.

But its that last one that always gets me.
I always feel like a failure when someone comments that James is spoilt because he wants to come out of his carseat in Sainsburys after screaming bloody murder. Even if you’re doing a cutesy voice like ‘oh who’s a spoilt little boy, you’ve got Mummy wrapped around your finger’

Yes, yes he has. He is only 10 weeks old. He depends on me to feed, change, clothe and wash him.

And on the other hand, if I left him to cry and get red faced and produce just enough tears to make your heart break, I get looked at like im neglecting my child. That look of ‘How dare I leave my child to cry while I pay for my shopping?’

So either way, I’m not doing what I should.

Something I have learnt since becoming a Mum, there really is no right or wrong. Every child is different. What might work for your child might not for another.
But as long as your child is safe, healthy and happy, then that is all that matters.

Babies are babies for such a short time, so shoot me for wanting to cuddle my baby while he is sleeping instead of putting him in his cot. He’ll get used to it some day.
And if he doesnt, you can all tell me ‘I told you so’.

But until then….how can I resist.

4 thoughts on “Parenthood

  1. Jenny paulin says:

    I have learnt to do what I feel, as my boy’s mummy, is right. You should do what you feel is right for James because YOU know him best of all. Everyone has an opinion but you must stand up for your own. Listen to others of course, but ultimately the decisions are down to you. Xxx

  2. Becs says:

    Exactly Fran. At 10 weeks, you just do what you feel needs to be done. There’s plenty of time for routines and the like (if that’s what you decide you want to do) later on! We watched some vids of Henry at 10 weeks old last night and he seemed so helpless compared to now. Enjoy it xxx

  3. Gah, ignore them. Give him cuddles, and then some more. A day will come when he’ll wriggle away. And you haven’t spoilt him just because he doesn’t like being in his carseat for a long time, he just can’t comprehend needing to be in one position and place for a long time yet. As time passes, his patience & attention span will increase and you’ll be able to do more things without expecting him to start wailing any minute. As you said, he IS just 10 weeks old. Do what comes naturally to you, you’re doing such an excellent job already. xxxxxx

  4. Lol I could have written this myself!
    My mum has been telling me off for weeks for picking him up when he cries.
    Then today at her house… He murmured & she picked him up before he cried. Her defence: I’m his granny, I’m allowed to spoil him. Yes I wanted to shake her lol.
    I say cuddle away. I want a happy, loving child, not a self settling, emotionally restrained one xx

Leave a Reply

