Annnnd…ACTION

I’ve been given an amazing opportunity.
It’s all happened very quickly and I still don’t quite believe it’s happening at all.

At the beginning of the year I made a little resolution to myself to make more women aware of cervical screening. Help women get away from the stigma of getting there Hoo-Ha’s checked out.
I was going to do this via my blog, random monthly reminders via Twitter and Facebook ‘Get your cervix checked, Today!’.

I got a call on Thursday after responding to a media request and spoke to Maddy at Jo’s Trust for 20 mins, who told me she’d like to put me forward to speak on Daybreak.

Y’know, the morning programme, with the legend that is Lorraine Kelly.

Holy moly.

And since then it’s been a whirlwind.
Today they are coming to our home to film a segment (cue massive cleaning, the likes of which hasn’t been done since I was nesting) and then tomorrow at silly o’clock I’m going to the studio to actually speak LIVE.

*voms a little*

I am so pleased I can help Jo’s Trust to raise awareness, lord knows it’s so important that more women know the difference screening like this is.

I guess I’m nervous because although I write strongly and come across bolshy and in control, I am in fact a tiny lady in this big bad world. Do I have what it takes to convince women to get a smear or act on something not right. Or get a Man to let the women in his life know its nothing to be ashamed of to sort there vagina out?

Oh god, am I gonna have to say VAGINA on breakfast TV?!

And you’re all going to see how fat I am and how common I sound?!?!

Fuck it. If I get just one woman pick up the phone to her doctors to book a smear, then I think that’s a good job done.

Wish me luck.

4 thoughts on “Annnnd…ACTION

  1. me_jstme says:

    So so so so proud of you. And yes you have what it takes because you were just another mum, like millions of others, who probably never thought cancer would affect you. It did! And if ‘just another mum’ picks up the phone and goes to her doctor and has her life saved after watching breakfast telly tomorrow then she’ll have you to thank. xx *sets Sky+ to record*

  2. I’ve seen more fat on a butcher’s pencil! And common? You sound fine to me! I’d say break a leg, but you don’t need my help – you’ll nail it xx

  3. @helenw71 says:

    Turning around one a horrific experience in a way which helps others is honestly no less than I’ve come to expect from you Fran. You are a genuinely lovely and inspiartional person & I hope that someone, someday is able to contact you and tell you that you saved their life. Hxx

Leave a Reply

