This isn’t everything you are…

It’s been commented to me before and especially of late, that I take songs to heart.
I always find out the lyrics to a song that captures my attention.
I seek the hidden meaning and make it got my existence.

In the spirit of trying to celebrate this day rather than wallow, I listened to a song today that I’ve listened to a thousand times. But today it struck a particular chord (see what I did there?).

By my favourite band, Snow Patrol, This isn’t everything you are
has a particular verse that resonates with me.

And in one little moment
It all implodes
But this isn’t everything you are

Breathe deeply in the silence
No sudden moves
This isn’t everything you are

Just take the hand that’s offered
And hold on tight
This isn’t everything you are

There’s joy not far from here, right
I know there is
This isn’t everything you are

It speaks volumes to me. I won’t be defined by the 2nd November. I will remember and move on, for my joy is not far from here.

This isn’t everything I am.

One thought on “This isn’t everything you are…

Leave a Reply

