Dad.

A year ago today, in what was already turning into the worst week of our lives, we lost our wonderful Dad.

I tried to think of words to justify such a Man; words are failing me this morning.

He was as stubborn as he was caring and the love he showed his children and grandchildren cannot be match.

Below is one of the eulogies read at Ron’s funeral, read by his boy, Pete.

Ronald Peter Crimp

Or as many of you have known him over the years, Ron, Rosie, Crimpy, Dad, Gramps, Brother or depending on how badly he annoyed Mum, what ever swear word came to mind.

Anyone who knew my Dad, would know that he was never happier than when he was locked in a room by himself with just the radio and a paint brush.

Or acting the fool with his grandkids.

In fact one of my favourite memories is a very recent one, even though Dad had lost his ability to speak and probably wasn’t at his most mobile, seeing him rolling around on floor with my 9 month old Son, with pure joy in his eyes, making James giggle (even though he was told by Mum to get up you daft sod) is
something that will always make me smile.

Most people of my age would remember Panini football albums and although My Dad never had a great passion for football (perhaps this is why he supported Arsenal) every friday night, after work, Dad would bring me a whole box of Panini stickers, although Mum always thought it was only 2 or 3 packets (Sorry Dad, let the cat out of the bag).

He was a Jack of all trades and also a master of quite a few and when it came to DIY, there was always two ways with Dad. His way and the wrong way.

When you’re at school and you’re asked what you wanted to be when you grew up. Some kids say they want to be a fireman or a singer or a footballer, I didn’t want to be any of those things, but I wanted to be just like you, Dad. You are and always will be my hero.

I love you Dad. x

I miss that man so much.

2 thoughts on “Dad.

Leave a comment